Now I am by no means an idiot. That being said today I am going to tell you a story about interesting things. So I have been sick for a while and knowing I probably could use some exercise I decided to go for a walk and walk until I was beat. But... In case you haven't noticed, Texas weather is freaking boiling except it has been boiled for so long it is literally past steam. So I went at night. Thats fairly dangerous and in this society and with my general fear of thugs, darkness, and ruffians I took my brother who has a second degree black belt and is six two. Real big guy and just in case we brought a fully charged phone with location monitors and told my mom where we were going. I am pretty much legal to be out at night and my brother (age 14) looks old so out we went at one in the morning and we were out for around an hour just talking when we got a call from my dad. He was pissed... and terrified... and generally irrational.
Now he had no reason to be as not only do we know people in the entire area we walked through but we also were fully protected. "its not how it used to be" "do you think you can't get raped" "do you think you are invincible" just a few phrases said to my brother and I when we got home.
"its not how it used to be". Well yeah it sort of is. There have been rapists since time began and aside from that most of them no matter what time period would not attack a group of people especially a woman accompanied by a larger guy. Not saying precautions shouldn't be taken but in a wealthy neighborhood in America that really is not an issue after all whenever you hear about a rape it occurred in some mall parking lot after hours where there wasn't anyone for at least a mile to hear the rapee scream.
"do you think you are invincible". Well yeah he would thats what you have been telling him literally his whole life. Young boys are pressured into fighting and violence since birth so if you can tell him to beat up anyone who treats him poorly despite their size and training then don't expect him to think he can't beat up a random guy on the street or in a bar.
"do you think you can't get raped". No obviously. Not at all really when society drills it into my head 24/7. Don't wear that you might send the wrong signal and get raped. Don't say that you could be seen as a sexual object just because you have sexual feelings that only men are supposed to feel and they might rape you. UMM no I don't think so. If a guy can laugh about jacking off every morning in a public setting I don't see why a woman cannot speak of her feminine opinions of sex in the same setting. I also don't see why my brother and his friends can walk around the house shirtless when I can't. My own brother has been taught so poorly as to ridicule me for not shaving when he doesn't and it is a painful itchy long process that he wouldn't do himself if he was a woman. Last thing for this quote umm men can get raped to not just women so saying it to me is not only objectifying your daughter but it is giving her the idea that women are inferior to men by not saying the same thing to you son.
I know it is literally everywhere but we can do something about objectification starting in our homes. Women do not have to have long hair to be beautiful just like men do not have to have short hair to be handsome. Women do NOT have to shave their legs or pits for men because men do not have to shave for women. Women to NOT have to wear bras to cover up the fact that they like generally all women AND men have nipples. I am not a hobo for not wearing a bra in my home or in public for that matter and it does not give anyone permission to assume I want to be confronted because of it. Men don't wear cups constantly in fear that if he doesn't women will discover that he like most men have a penis. He wears it for protection when he exercises just like a woman might wear a bra when she exercises. If a man wants to wear makeup to enhance his appearance he can and if a woman doesn't want to she doesn't have to. OK thats it I'm out ttyl.
No comments:
Post a Comment